Will children be able to swim in the Queiq river?

Every time I walk past the mud, cement and confusion that is the river project,  a question comes to mind. Where do the “seiran” people go now?

I smile when I remember the populist invasion that used to happen every Friday. The hustle and bustle, the music, kebab, popcorn, the children running after each other, enjoying that rare piece of greenery in our dusty city, and annoying the hell out of the stuck-up “high-classes” walking by. Where they came from, where they went after this evening is over I never knew.

But that’s over now, the strip of land they used to crowd is unearthed, and the restoration of the dried up river underneath is one of the biggest projects Aleppo has seen recently. As such, rumors have  been running wild. Cafés, restaurants, and other tourist traps in what is promised to be the heart of modern Aleppo.

Will that heart have a place for its old Friday inhabitants?

Further reading, for the curious non-7alabi

Explore posts in the same categories: Aleppo

8 Comments on “Will children be able to swim in the Queiq river?”

  1. علوش Says:

    I don’t think my friend, those people are so Darawish to think to step next to any luxury restaurant, as much as high-class people fear them, they fear them too.

    The intention is to put luxury restaurants next to the river, and whenever there is such a thing, you wont find those.

    Those people feels comfortable in the public places, a place reflect their culture and their poor life, whenever the place is much more than that, they will reject it, cause at the 1st place they don’t feel comfort next to it.

    But if there was a public place on that project, it will be FULL 100%.

    • seleucid Says:

      I wonder if they miss the Friday atmosphere, or maybe they found somewhere else?

      Our people are in no way ready for a modern competitive economy Alloush. Neither the colleges nor the academies have prepared them for such an atmosphere (my condolences to those that didn’t even finish studies)

      If the economic landscape keeps rising this fast without taking those people up with it, they will go back to their neighborhoods, and will be forgotten.

      • علوش Says:

        Your notion is very important, those people and exactly who didn’t finish their study and they are mid or lower class never had a chance to interact with the outside world, even if they had Internet connection, you find them interacting with people as they are on their neighborhood.

        I totally agree with you, if the pace of economy is so fast, those people will feel alienated.

        I’d really like to see your view on that subject on full post if you have time.

  2. Da_aZ Says:

    I have much of the same concerns for my Beirut, although *my* Beirut is long gone. Comparatively, my concerns go beyond a river. My concerns are more geared at “will I be able to afford to live in this city? will I be able to raise my children in this city? will they have the same privileges I’ve had of being able to identify with different neighborhoods, dialects, cultures and traditions within this city?” … I dream and hope of generation IV rising up against this expulsion of our culture. We are slowly losing our claim over our geographic identities and are entirely helpless to stop it. Btw, this is one of the main reasons I WANT to live in Syria for some time because I feel like it my city/country has lost an intangible quality that I will be forever nostalgic for. Could we possibly categorize this as the new face of internal colonialism? We are culturally and traditionally being stripped of our identities…

    Long post, I know, but MAN did you hit a sensitive nerve!

    • seleucid Says:

      Oh don’t get me started! Beirut deserves its own post of grief and lament. I also need one for my opinions about identity.

      Congratulation of having a comment longer than the post however🙂

  3. Tai De Says:

    Is it a project to restore the Queiq River, or one to fill its location with luxury restaurants, or is it both? Where will the water come from?

    • seleucid Says:

      It is both. The water will come from the Euphrates, we cut a deal with Turkey for that. It’s a great touristic project, and my hunch says it’s going to be very lucrative for local businesses and a landmark for Aleppo.

  4. Majd Says:

    Your post makes me feel like an asshole, I’m one of the stuck up people who thought the poor people coming in was a nuisance. They hit on the girls, had ridiculous dogs with them, were noisy, and increased crime incidents. The river to me is a great step forward. Hopefully it’ll get finished and not be half-assed.


Leave a Reply

