Reflections on web 2.0

On September the 7th, I cut all my connections with the net, cold turkey. I had to stop, refrain from taking one more step before I knew exactly what I was getting into. I’m one of these people who have incredible drive. It’s a blessing, it has made me who I am today, but if you maintain drive without direction, it doesn’t take long before you lose your way.

The unplugging effect is instantaneous, suddenly the turbulence has stopped and you are in a soothing, easy flow. The first time I focused on something for three whole hours, with no notifications, emails, interesting links, nothing seeking my attention, it was as if I was reassembled.

My first shock was that my brain still thinks in tweets! Oh and boredom is hardly an issue, I used to need seventy hours to accomplish what I need to do that day, now it’s more like thirty.

This retreat is for 14 days, during which I should find my personal answers to life’s three cyber-philosophical questions (I’m reading Sophie’s World, and it’s getting to me). Ask yourself those exact same questions, think long and hard. Those three, every net geek should know the answer to, especially before web 3.0 dawns on us.

Let’s start with question number one…

Explore posts in the same categories: Web 2.0

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Reflections on web 2.0”

  1. Leila Says:

    But…the internet is fun. A bit of entertainment never hurt anyone. But if you feel like it’s running your life, I guess I can’t blame you for wanting to take control. And the fact that you HAVE shows you have willpower.

    I don’t use the computer that much (I have a time limit 8pm to 10:30pm, and sometimes I log on during the night for an hour, like now). Plus my ass starts to hurt from sitting down for so long. I need to go out at least once a day or I go insane. True facts.

    I miss you.❤

    • seleucid Says:

      Leila! :’)

      Luckily I have the ass of steel😛. It changes when you have a smart phone, it starts running after you.

      It’s more complicated than just time, I’ll explain in further blogs.

  2. Wa3d Says:

    You are reading Sophie’s world ?❤
    I'll start an internet diet , not a total sabbatical , after Eid inshAllah !

  3. harhoor Says:

    should i consider u commenting on raptr you breaking ur internet diet?

  4. xDareen Says:

    Your brain still thinks of tweets! lol
    I wish i had your determination to give this experience a try
    You’ve been missed.❤

  5. Haitham Al-Sheeshany Says:

    I read the whole sequel🙂, nice.
    It`s good to look back and reflect on such thingies.

    *line 3: did u mean “those” instead of “thees”


Leave a Reply

